Skip to content

A woman with a 82 year old Christmas tree

December 8, 2010

Buying a Christmas tree is as much a tradition as giving presents for many families. Every year there is debate in the environmental world of which is better/worse (optimist or pessimist?) for the environment. But no one can deny that re-using something you already own is a smart choice both from the consumer point of view and for the planet.

That’s why I think Jean Eadie is a pretty awesome woman, she’s been using the same tree for 82 years. Her parents bought the artificial tree (thought to be one of the first sold in the UK) in 1928 when she was three years old, and she’s had it ever since. She says, “I know it sounds silly, but every year when I unwrap it I wish it happy birthday.” So sweet.

She said in an interview that there’s no reason for throwing it away, who can argue with that? Check out her interview and 82 year old tree in this clip.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 21, 2014 3:42 am

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have
    found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I’m hoping to contribute & help different customers like its helped me.
    Good job.

Leave a Reply

