Skip to content

Slowing down

February 10, 2010

by Jenny Downing (r&r)

Here in Boston, we’re about to be snowed in (so excited) and I’m home sickly, both good reasons to take life a bit slower. I’m looking forward to a cup of tea, a book, a nap and to watching the flakes come down. Snow has a way of quieting the world, it’s so soothing and peaceful.

This all got me thinking about the slow movements — slow food, slow money . . . systems that promote a greater focus on local quality over speed and quantity. If you’re unfamiliar with these ideas, take a minute to read about the slow food movement here and the slow money movement here, both are really interesting! In essence, the slow food movement can be described as:

. . . a non-profit, eco-gastronomic member-supported organization that was founded in 1989 to counteract fast food and fast life, the disappearance of local food traditions and people’s dwindling interest in the food they eat, where it comes from, how it tastes and how our food choices affect the rest of the world.

I across the most fitting blog this morning for this theme of slowing down and considering our food — it is simply breakfast authored by Jen Causey. She’s got a fantastic shop on etsy and is an inspiring photographer. I was particularly taken with her breakfast photographs from her blog; apart from looking absolutely delicious they somehow remind me to take the time to enjoy the food we eat. We should know where our food comes from and have an appreciation for how it got to our table. (Maybe it’s just because I’m sick but I would love nothing more than to wrap my hands around the mug in these photos.) Photographs by Jennifer Causey via Simply Breakfast:

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 8:52 pm

    Liza, I particularly liked this blog out of the 5 or so that I’ve gotten to read so far… You really have a good talent for this. I feel like we both have developed the same interest in sustaintability, which is very exciting. I have heard of the CSF in Boston, and I think it’s a brilliant concept… I will teach you to debone fish!
    OK well good luck with your blogging and I’m so far wicked impressed. I love you’re collage blog too!
    Best,
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

