Skip to content

Giving Thanks. . .

November 25, 2009

It’s hard to believe Thanksgiving is actually here already, but it’s also very exciting. I never used to like Thanksgiving food that much – partially because I was a vegetarian and no offense to you other non-Turkey eaters, but a tofurkey just really isn’t as tasty as the real deal. And partially because yams, parsnips, gravy. . . they weren’t really my top choices. But now my palette has expanded and I’m cooking this year, which means I get to make only what I want to eat.

This week I’ve been out gathering all of the ingredients for the meal, and I realized that in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for a lot. I am thankful for the farmer’s market that I can walk to with my canvas bags to pick up local produce. I’m thankful that even though it was somewhat of a poultry competition, my boyfriend and I were able to find a relatively local, well-raised, organic bird for dinner. I’m thankful for my weekly Boston Organics delivery, which brought fresh local produce to my door yesterday.

I’m also really happy to be able to share some of my thoughts and frustrations on this blog, and to try in a small way to make the world more sustainable. So thank you to all readers — from those who have stumbled upon this blog accidentally to my loyal readers who have supported me from the beginning. I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving!

image credit: Flickr user mdpNY

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

