Skip to content

Hello world!

August 13, 2009

First of all, welcome and thanks for reading! I wrote a bit about why I started this blog in the ‘about’ section, but I just wanted to tell you a little more about myself and why I’m doing this. I’ve always been interested in the environment, and in all the associated keywords you can think of: green, sustainability, eco-friendly, conservation, preservation, stewardship, biodiversity, etc. Attaching my interests to just one of those words seems too narrow. I’ve also always been interested in the design of things from architecture to modern art to interior design. So what do these environmental issues and design have in common? More than you might think.

Design is usually pigeon-holed as being either devoted to form or function. But we can have both – we can have beautiful things that work with the environment and are thereby sustainable. We can eventually create products, systems, relationships and politics that are just considered smart design rather than particularly green or environmental. Green has become associated with the idea of ‘making do with less’ or sacrificing quality but to make our world a more sustainable place, we have to re-think this notion and use design to make better products and to improve quality.

So on this blog, I will devote posts to environmental issues, and I will write about inspiring design. And I hope that somewhere in the middle I will find design ideas that can inspire a cleaner, greener, more sustainable world.

earth

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

